What?

I was really unsure what I would “blog” about.  Not having blogged in the past, I was unsure what I would be willing to discuss in this type of public forum.  Anyway, I decided that I would chronicle my training, and my eating plans.  I will just put detail what exercise that I completed that particular day, and I will also include a full recipe of something that I ate that particular day.  At least someone may like the recipes that I include.  

It has been an interesting year and a half for me, but I have made some tremendous strides in my exercise and eating routines due to one person in particular.  It was wonderful to have someone to workout with, and to plan menus with since we both had a common goal (our wedding).  The biggest benefit of this was that we were able to drop some weight, and get in shape at the same time.  In fact, I would say that right now I am in the best shape that I have been in a very long time.   Again, this whole process started because of this one person, and the goal that we had.  Unfortunately, the marriage never happened (a very long story), but the exercise and eating right continued. 

Anyway, I decided that I would focus on specific goals, such as completing a Half Marathon in under 2 hours and 15 minutes on the 5th of December 2010, a Full Marathon on the 15th of January 2011 in under 4 hours and 30 minutes, a 64 mile bike ride on the 16th of January, and a triathlon on a date that is still to be determined.  I also decided that I would raise money for a charity for each event that I am going to enter.

Both my Dad and my Grandmother suffered from Alzheimer’s.  So I decided that the first thing that I would try and raise a few dollars for is this particular charity.  I created a web page, and those that are interested can donate some money by going to the following link: http://alz.kintera.org/sportingevents/greg_vick_for_my_dad_and_grandmother?faf=1&elid=3852128462

Anyway, more will follow later today including my training that I completed for the day, and my recipe of the day. 

~ by Greg Vick on October 24, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
