Salmon with a Raspberry Reduction

piece of salmon

Image via Wikipedia

One of my favorite foods to eat is salmon.  I am conscious of where the salmon comes from, and I make sure that it is on the Monterey Seafood Watch list.  You can check to see if your fish is on the list by going to the following link: http://www.montereybayaquarium.org/cr/seafoodwatch.aspx

 

I think it is very important that we do what we can to ensure that we can continue to eat quality seafood, and that we do not overfish our waters.  I have been eating seafood my entire life, and I want to continue to eat seafood.  Anyway, here is the recipe:

 

6 oz Salmon filets (one per person)

1 tsp olive oil (per filet)

Pinch of kosher salt

Pinch of fresh cracked pepper

¼ cup of sugar free raspberry preserves (I use Polaner)

¼ cup of water

 

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.  Coat each salmon filet in olive oil, and season both sides with kosher salt and fresh cracked pepper (a couple of grinds with my pepper grinder).  Place each filet on a baking sheet, skin side down and put in oven once it is preheated.  Cook the filets for 12 to 15 minutes (I like my salmon right about medium).

 

While the salmon cooks, put the preserves and the water in a small sauce pan.  Bring to a simmer over medium heat then reduce heat to low.  Cook this mixture until it has reduced by half.

 

Once the salmon is done, plate the salmon and drizzle the raspberry reduction over the salmon filet. 

 

Enjoy!!

~ by Greg Vick on October 26, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
