Strength Training and Short Run

Strength Training

No matter how much you plan, there are days in which you need to change your schedule.  Sometimes it is because of work, sickness, family, etc … but you need to be adaptable.  Today was one of those days for me.  I have a parent teacher conference today, and my son also gets out of school early.  So I needed to modify my schedule to get my workout in, and to meet these family obligations.  So how did I do it?

Well, I decided to do my strength training in the morning, and then to get in a 30 minute run on the treadmill.  I ended up doing a full body strength training, but I noticed that my body was not all there.  I guess that I am an afternoon person when it comes to strength training.  Anyway, I completed my full body strength training.

After that I decided to run.  I was supposed to run 5 miles at an easy pace, but I decided that I would cut that down to 30 minutes since I did my strength training.  I did 3 miles, and overall I felt pretty good.  I still feel like I am on track to meet my goals for the half marathon the 5th of December.

~ by Greg Vick on October 27, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
