Swimming Laps and Strength Training

Pictograms of Olympic sports - Triathlon. This...

Image via Wikipedia

Friday is always a swim day in the morning, and then a full body strength training day in the afternoon.  I’ve been working hard on swimming, but I have been pretty slack over the past couple of weeks.  I was swimming for about an hour straight, and doing between 2000 and 2250 meters in the hour.  But for the past couple of weeks, I have only been swimming for 30 minutes.

Today was no exception to that trend.  I swam laps for about 30 minutes and completed 20 of them for a total of 1000 meters.  I really need to increase that distance, since I need to be able to swim about 1500 meters in the open water for the Olympic Distance Triathlon and about 1900 meters for the 1/2 Ironman Triathlon.  Plus there is such a huge difference between swimming in the pool, and swimming in the open water … speaking of that, I need to order my wetsuit today.   I think that I will be purchasing the Nineteen Men’s Tsunami Full Sleeve Wetsuit.  It’s a good mid-level suit and one that I hope will last me a long time (at least 3 to 4 years).  I will let you know what I think of that suit when I get it, put it on, and try it out.

This afternoon I will be doing my strength training.  Like my previous days, I do a fully body workout since I don’t really have the time to split my workouts into multiple training sessions.  Shoot,m I already spend about 12 sessions a week training.  I could split up my strength training into two more sessions, but there I would be in training twice a day, 7 days a week.  If I was getting paid, and was a professional, then I would … but I’m really doing this to keep healthy, and to see just how hard I can push myself.

Exercising has been the best thing for me … It has given me something to focus on, and something that I care about.  I will say, that my thoughts drift just like they did again today as I was walking to the pool.  I started thinking about Jacqui again, and I could feel the tears start to build.  Exercise is one of the many things that we did together, and it is something that makes me feel good.  I just wish that I could exercise with her again …

~ by Greg Vick on October 29, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
