Road Cycling

Today was one of those days in which you need to be flexible.  I wanted to see my son’s last soccer game of the season, and it was one of those that started at 0800.  Since it was the last one, that also meant that there would be a post-game party.  For this one, the parents had to bring something for after the game.  I also made some Whole-Wheat Zucchini Apple Muffins for those of us who are trying to watch what we are eating (this is the recipe of the day that I will be posting next).

Needless to say, I had to get up butt crack early to head out the door for the game.  But it was well worth it so that I could watch my son run around the soccer field.  Maybe next year he will have a better understanding what he needs to do … but it is cute to watch.

Anyway, I did not get my run in this morning, but instead choose to ride my bike.  I didn’t do much, but I kept a steady pace of around 16 miles per hour, and biked for an hour.  This should hold me until I can get in my 9 mile run tomorrow morning.  It feels good to be able to ride the bike, but I am always so worried about the cars on the road since drivers always seem to be so distracted.

The last time I took my bike out for a ride, I was about 8 miles into the ride and I saw a lady in her car coming into my lane.  She was less than a foot from hitting the rear tire on my bike, but I managed to swerve so that she would not hit me.  I looked back at her and guess what she was doing?  You guess it, she was talking on her cell phone and not paying any attention what do ever.  Personally, no one should be talking on a cell phone in the car since I really can’t think of anything that is that important that can’t wait.  Or if it is that important, then it would be better if you pulled off on the side of the road.

And as far as texting while driving … I saw a Charleston County Policeman the other day, texting, in his car, while driving … and the best part of this whole situation is that he drove through a stop sign. 

No cell phone in your car … put the damn thing in the trunk and make your calls when you are stopped.

~ by Greg Vick on October 30, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
