Training – 9 Mile Run

Chicago Half Marathon from 51st street overpas...

Image via Wikipedia

Sunday’s are typically my long run day, but I will change that depending on what day the actual race will take place.  Since the 1/2 marathon that I will be running in December is on a Sunday, I will continue to run my long run’s on Sunday until after that race.  I think that our bodies become conditioned, and we “expect” certain things on certain days … So my body expected to do a long run today.  I will say that I was a procrastinator today, and I really had a hard time getting out of bed, and getting ready to get my run in.  But once I got going I felt so much better.

I completed my 9 mile run in 1:29:50, which means (according to the Runner’s World Training Calculator: http://www.runnersworld.com/cda/trainingcalculator/0,7169,s6-238-277-279-0-0-0-0-0,00.html) that I will complete my Half Marathon in 2:13:46, which is under my goal time of 2:15.  I want to break 2:15, and then I will shoot for a goal of under 2 hours. 

My first half marathon, the San Antonio Rock-n-Roll on the 15th of November 2009, I completed it in 3:44:48.  My next half marathon was the Chicago Rock-n-Roll on the 1st of August 2010 , I completed it in 2:45:45.  I managed to take almost an hour off my time, and I figured that if I trained even harder that I would be able to knock a half hour off my time, and break the 2:15 barrier.  I think that my goal will be to break 2 hours, and run the 1/2 marathon in under 2 hours.  So here’s to running, training, and goals!!

~ by Greg Vick on October 31, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
