Tempo and Interval Training

Today, Tuesday, is always a duel training day.  I perform my regularly scheduled training in the morning, and then I train with the group from MUSC who are training are a 1/2 marathon and a full marathon.

This morning, I did a tempo session for 60 minutes.  I don’t know what it is, but it takes me about 2 and a 1/2 miles to get motivated.  Once I hit that mark, then I’m good to go.  I did my 60 minutes, and was below goal for my 1/2 marathon pace in December.  So I am feeling ok about that particular run, and I really think that I may hit my goal.

This evening will be interval training.  I will run 400 meters at a pace that is about 20% slower than my 1/2 marathon pace, then 800 meters at 10 to 15% faster than my goal pace for my 1/2 marathon.  I will do this 8 times, and then finish up the session with 400 meters at a pace that is 20% slower than my 1/2 marathon pace.

The end result of this will be to see how this training plan works, and what improvements that I can do for my next race … But overall, I’m feeling pretty good about the race in December.  The full marathon in January … well, lets just say that I am worried about that one just because 26.2 miles is such a long distance to run.

~ by Greg Vick on November 2, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
