Training – 5 Mile Run and Strength

Since it’s Wednesday, that means that it is a two work out day.  I would love to be able to do it all in one work out, but I think that I’m too old, and too out of shape to run and then lift weights, or to lift weights and then run.  So I need to break it up into two workouts.

This morning I did 5 miles on the treadmill.  Since it was a recovery run from Tuesday’s two running sessions, and a break before tomorrow’s hill/incline running session, I decide to take it a little easy on the run.  I started out at 5.3 MPH, and increased the speed .1 mph every 1/2 mile.  Once I hit the 3 and 1/2 mile mark I slowly increased the speed until I hit 6.5 MPH at the end.  Overall it was a very good run, and I think I will be ready for my hill/incline running session tomorrow.

The afternoon is strictly strength training.  Since I only strength train 3 days a week, I focus on full body workouts so that I can train all of the major muscle groups, and complete the workout in about an hour.  I perform 2 sets per machine of 15 reps, and also add in three sets of dumbbell workouts … chest press, tricep extensions and bicep curls.  I do 2 sets of 25 reps for all core (lower back and abdominal) work.  Overall I think that has helped my strength, and my running.

~ by Greg Vick on November 3, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
