10 Mile Run

Today, Sunday, is a long run in preparation for the half marathon the first weekend in December in Las Vegas.  Today’s run is a 10 mile run.  With 4 weeks to go, I wanted to make sure that I was able to make the pace for this run.  I completed the run with a pace that was 2 seconds faster per mile than what I needed.  I needed to run the 10 miles at a pace of 10:10, and I managed to run the 10 miles at a pace of 10:08.

Next Sunday, I have a run that will “test” my pace for the half marathon.  Overall I felt really good on this run … I do need to get an electrolyte drink for the run.  I was drinking the G2, but ran out.  I tried to make a drink, but it was too sweet and it upset my stomach.  I’m going to try a drink called “AMP” that you can get at GNC.  I will let you know how it works as the training progresses. 

As far as the Garmin Forerunner 310XT, well I can say that I love the watch when I am running outdoors.  I don’t think that it is in sync with the footpod since the treadmill mileage and the watch mileage really differ over the course of a long run.  5 miles on the treadmill equal about 5.8 miles on the watch.  I’m not sure which is the right number or not … but I would guess that the treadmill is not that far off.  What I need to do is to test it on a track so that I can see how much it is off … I have not used it yet while swimming, but I will be doing that soon enough since I finally have my new wetsuit.

Like I said, great run … a little sick to my stomach, but overall feeling pretty darn good about the half marathon.

~ by Greg Vick on November 7, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
