Swimming and Strength Training

Monday is one of my two a day work out days.  The morning consisted of swimming for 40 minutes.  Since this is a pool, and not the open water, it is not as difficult as it could be.  I have my new wetsuit, but I have not had a chance to try it out yet.  I am hoping to go to Florida over Thanksgiving … Maybe in December … Who knows, and then I will try out the wetsuit.

As far as the pool swimming, I just swim laps and do not push-off or turn on the sides of the pool.  It is touch and go … I swim a length in 37 strokes (yes I counted the strokes as I swam), and it takes me about 1 minute and 10 to 1 minute and 15 seconds to swim 50 meters.

The afternoon was a full body strength training session.  I have decided to change-up the work out, and now do a few sets of 12 reps at a much heavier weight.  For example, my leg work out consisted of the following on the Nautilus machines:

1. Leg Press – 300 lbs for 12 reps – 2 sets

2. Leg Extensions – 80 lbs for 15 reps – 2 sets

3. Leg Curls – 80 lbs for 15 reps – 2 sets

I did this for each major body part in order to try to increase overall strength, and to work the Type 1 (slow twitch) and Type 2 (fast twitch) muscle fibers.  

My plan will be to add 5 lbs every time that I can hit 12 reps in the hopes of getting closer to 8 reps, and to do the same thing when I hit 15 reps in the hopes of getting closer to 12 reps.  This should allow me to continue to build strength, and make some additional gains with my running.

~ by Greg Vick on November 8, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
