Black Beans and Rice

 

One of my favorite dishes is black beans (or pinto beans) and rice.  I have adopted this recipe to make it a little healthier than what the typical recipe is.  This does include the use of brown rice (medium gain) instead of white rice, and I also use a lot less olive oil when I am making my sofrito.  Anyway, I hope you enjoy…

 

Sofrito

 

1 large yellow onion
1 pimiento or substitute with 1 green bell pepper
1 red bell pepper or 1 sm jar roasted red peppers (I like the taste of roasted red peppers)
1 medium head of garlic (2 tbsp. minced garlic)
1 bunch of cilantro
6 leaves of culantro 
¼ cup Spanish olives, pitted
1 tbsp cappers
2 tsps salt
1 tbsp black pepper
1 tbsp crushed oregano
½ cup olive oil
 

 

Wash, peel, seed and coarsely chop everything. Put in a blender and puree. I freeze these in ½ cup packages in the freezer and use one when I am making my black beans or pinto beans.

 

Black Beans and Rice

 

½ cup of sofrito

2 15 oz cans of black beans (or pinto beans)

1 cup of medium gain brown rice

  

Cook the brown rice according to directions.  In a separate pan, heat the sofrito over medium heat until heated, then add the black beans or the pinto beans and cook until heated thoroughly.  I like to serve 1 cup of the black beans over ½ cup of the rice.

 

 

 

 

 

 

~ by Greg Vick on November 10, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
