Joking Disease – Witzelsucht

There is an article on MSNBC that is talking about a “joking disease”called “witzelsucht.” It is a brain dysfunction that causes all sorts of compulsive silliness: bad jokes, corny puns, wacky behavior.  And it has been known to cause people who have this “tendency to tell inappropriate and poor jokes.”

 

After all of these years I finally know what I have … I have “witzelsucht.”  Let me just give you a few examples of this disease that I have …

 

A couple of years ago, I was in Wal-Mart and I was checking out, when over the loud-speaker I hear, “There is a man in the toy department who wants a hummer.”  Me, being the quick-witted person that I am, asked the lady who was operating the cash register, “Do you have to be in the toy department to get a hummer, or can you get one anywhere in the store?”  I did not get a laugh … but I thought that it was funny.

 

Another time, I was in Wal-Mart (notice a trend here), and I was rubbing my head.  The woman who was checking me out asks me, “What’s wrong?”  I told her that I needed to see a manager, and she asks me, “Why?”   I told her that it was “because I was hit in the head by one of the falling prices.”   I didn’t get a laugh then either …

 

Another time, I went to pick my son up at his elementary school (this was back in the early 1990’s), and I dressed up all goofy with huge suspenders on a set if bib overalls (that I wore pulled way up), a flannel shirt, and work boots … I ran around the school and in a goofy voice was calling my son’s name … “Jonathan … Jonathan … Jonathan …”  So there I was embarrassing my son in his elementary school which was probably something that scared him for life. 

 

But at least now I finally know why I have been doing this for all of these years … I have witzelsucht.  Now I just need to learn how to pronounce it …

~ by Greg Vick on November 12, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
