Swimming and Strength Training

Today, being Friday, is another twice a day workout.  The morning was spent in the pool swimming laps.  I managed to swim 1200 meters, and overall felt pretty good.  I did not swim straight through, and took a three (3) breaks along the way.  These breaks were just to get a sip of my sports drink, and then back to swimming.  I also swam a few laps at a hard pace to try to increase my overall speed.

The afternoon is strength training.  It is a full body workout, and uses both dumbbells and Nautilus equipment.  At least one exercise per body part is 8 to 12 reps, and that is done for 2 sets.  The other exercise for that body part is 12 to 15 reps for 2 sets.  This will allow me to continue to work on both the Type I and Type II muscle fibers (fast and slow twitch).  Overall, the strength training is coming along great, and since I am keeping records on my lifting, I am able to track the specific gains that I am making while training.

I highly recommend that if you intend to strength train tha you keep track of your lifting (reps, sets, and weight) in a log so that you can continue to make progress.  What happens over time is that your body will become accustomed to the weight that you are lifting and will adapt.  As a result you will not make any more gains in your strength.  I recommend small increments when adding weight … 5 lbs for large muscle groups, and 1 lb for smaller muscle groups so that you make gains, but don’t do hurt yourself.

~ by Greg Vick on November 12, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
