4 Mile Pace

Today, Saturday, was a 4 mile pace run.  According to the training plan that I have, and my goal of completing the half marathon in 2:15, I needed to run a pace of 9:34.  I managed to increase that speed, and averaged 9:04 per mile which means that my pace was 9:04 (I just can’t seem to break 9 minutes per mile on a longer run, but on a mile I was able to almost break 8 mph).  If I used the pace calculator that is located on Runner’s World website (http://runndersworld.com/trainingcalculator) and enter in my time to complete the 4 mile pace run (36:13) it shows that I would be able to complete the half marathon in 2:07:22.  That looks good “on paper” but I’m still shooting to break 2:15.  If I do better, then that as they say is “the icing on the cake.”

Now on to nutrition … I got a post on Facebook about the “Marathon” products by Snickers.  I’m always looking for an edge, and a way to get in more quality protein, but being able to get it in something that I eat verses something that I drink.  If I drink a “protein” drink I still feel hungry, but if I eat something it seems to fill that space in my stomach and I am able to go longer without having to eat something.  This allows me to keep my calorie intake to around 2400 calories a day.

Anyway, I tried the Snickers Marathon Nutrition Bar (Dark Chocolate Crunch) and I have to say that I was not impressed.  I didn’t care too much for the taste and I feel like it leaves an aftertaste that I could not get rid of.  From a nutrition standpoint, it’s not too bad: 150 calories per bar, with 4.5 grams of fat, 22 grams of carbohydrates (7 grams of fiber), and 11 grams of protein.  One thing that I was not too happy about was that they did use corn syrup.  There is a lot of controversy over this, but it is something that I try to completely eliminate from my diet.  Like I said, I wasn’t impressed, so I don’t think that I will buy anymore.

I also tried the Snickers Marathon Protein Bar (Chocolatey Nut Burst), and again … I was not that impressed.  It’s too chewy … but it sure was a whole lot better tasting than the Nutrition Bar.  From a nutrition standpoint, it’s not too bad, but the other protein bar that I eat has less fat (by half, less sugars, and only one gram less protein (I regularly eat the “Eat Good. Look Great.” Pure Protein bar … it also has no corn syrup)).  Anyway, these bars contain 280 calories, 9 grams of fat, 37 grams of carbohydrates (11 grams of fiber), and 21 grams of protein.  It’s better than the nutrition bar, but I will stick to the “Eat Good. Look Great.” protein bar since I really like the taste of these much better.

~ by Greg Vick on November 13, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
