Swimming and Strength Training

Today, Monday, is a twice a day workout.  I decided to start a formal swimming program since I need to start preparing for my triathlon.  So I started out with a 300 meter warm-up on my swim.  Once I completed the warm-up, I then did 5 X 100’s with a 15 second rest between the sets.  I did these at a fairly aggressive pace so that I was breathing heavy after each set.  Once I completed that, I then swam 200 yards at an easy pace for a cool down.  Overall the swim felt really good, and I am looking forward to my next swim on Friday.

Also today is a strength training day.  I will continue to perform a full body workout using Nautilus machines and dumbbells.  It is two exercises per body part of two sets with 15 reps.  One exercise of two sets of 8 – 12 reps are performed with a relatively heavy weight.  The next exercise of two sets of 12 – 15 reps are preformed with a lighter weight.  The main thing to remember is that both exercises are performed with me working hard.  In other words, the weights have to be heavy and I can just barely get through the reps and no be able to exceed the high-end of the reps.  Once I exceed the high-end, I add more weight.  The idea is to gain strength and not to become comfortable with the weight.

In the next couple of weeks, I also plan to make a change on my strength days.  I plan to take two days (probably Monday and Friday) and begin to do more compound exercises.  What I mean by this, is that I will add in squats, deadlifts, etc into my routine, and cut back on the use of machines on those days.  I will hit the major body parts (legs, back, chest, biceps and triceps) performing compound exercises, and do a few exercises with dumbbells, and then work the core (lower back and abs) with the machines.  I’m still working on this, and I will write a more detailed layout when I firm up the exercises, sets and reps.

~ by Greg Vick on November 15, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
