8 X 800 Intervals

Today’s run, Thursday, is an interval run.  In this one, I had to complete 8 intervals of 800 meters.  I started off with a 400 meter jog, and then did my first 800 meter interval.  After I finished the 800 meters, I then did a 200 meter jog.  I then did my next 800 meters.  I did this until I completed 800 meters, 8 times.  As far as my pace, I did the jogs at 5.1 mph, and the 800 meters at 9:40 mph.  Overall the intervals felt really good … why?

Remember how I said that I was going to try a Gatorade G1?  Well, this morning I did a G1 about 15 minutes prior to the start of the run.  Again, I don’t know if it helps nutritionally, or if it is purely psychological.  But it helped, and I was able to do the run.  So I think I will continue to use this one.  But I will try another pre-workout drink because this one is a little costly since it is about $1.50 a serving.  I would like to find a power or something that I could mix in some water prior to my workout … much like I do with the Cytomax powder that I use during my workouts. 

Like I said … it looks like it works for me. 

~ by Greg Vick on November 18, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
