Swimming Intervals and Strength Training

Today, being Friday, is a twice a day workout.  The morning workout consists of swimming intervals.  The following is the details of that workout:

1. Warm-up – 3oo yards, medium-low intensity

2. 5 X 100 yards with a 30 second rest between sets, medium-high intensity

3. Cool down – 200 yards, medium-low intensity

I measure intensity on a scale of 1 to 10, 10 being that you are going all out and exercising as hard as you can.  This is good for a short burst, but not for longer workouts.  So medium intensity would be about a 5 on the 1 to 10 scale.  Medium-low would be about a 3 on this same scale.  Medium-high would be about a 7.  Now how do you judge this?  I do it based on my breathing.  If I swim 100 yards in this exercise, and I can’t catch my breath, then I am swimming too hard.  So when I did my 100 yard intervals, I was breathing heavy, but I was not out of breath.  Does that make sense?  And that 30 second rest was sufficient so that I was able to do the next interval.  Don’t get me wrong, at the end of those 5 sets I was pretty exhausted.

The afternoon session consisted of strength training.  My strength training session is a full-body workout.  I am still doing a mix of machines, dumbbells and core exercises.  This weekend, I will develop my next workout and will publish it next week when I complete the details.  But it will be a mix of compound exercises, isolation exercises, and core exercises. 

An example of a compound exercise would be squats.  I will be replacing my leg presses on the machine (Nautilus) with squats using the FreeMotion machine.  Even though using the FreeMotion machine is not the same as using a barbell, it will still work more muscle groups.  Therefore, it qualifies as a compound exercise.  In a nutshell, anything that works multiple muscle groups, and causes you to use “stability” muscles would qualify as a compound exercise.  I will still do isolation exercises, such as bicep curls, tricep extensions, etc … but I should be able to cut down my total exercises to 10 to 12, instead of the 18 that I am doing now. 

~ by Greg Vick on November 19, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
