12 Mile Run – Long Run

Sunday’s, at least until the half marathon in Vegas, are my long run days.  Today, being two weeks out from the half marathon, I ran 12 miles.  The 12 miles felt great, and I was able to do it well below the pace that I have set for my goal.  I want to be able to run the half marathon in 2:15.  In order to meet that goal, I need to have a pace of 10:19.  Today my pace was 9:53, and I was able to complete the 12 miles in 1:58:47.  For people that are fast runners, or who have a lot more experience, that may not seem that good.  But I am extremely happy with this time, and how I feel after the run.

I am on my goal to set a new personal record (PR) for this half marathon.  I not only feel that I will set a new PR based on the half marathon that I did in Chicago, but I am also doing this to raise money and awareness for Alzheimer’s.  My Dad and my Grandmother both had Alzheimer’s, and it was so rough to watch them deteriorate like they did up until their death.  Unfortunately, it’s only going to get worse, and more people are going to end up with this condition.

I’ve really been training hard, and I could use some donations to make reach my goal.  So if you have any extra that you can spare, you can click on the following link and make a donation:

http://alz.kintera.org/sportingevents/greg_vick_for_my_dad_and_grandmother  

As far as my routine today for my run, this is how I did my pre-run fueling, my run fueling, and my post-run recovery. 

I started out the morning with a Clif Bar (Crunchy Peanut Butter), and two cups of coffee, which was about 1 hour out from the start of my run.  15 minutes prior to my run, I drank a Gatorade G1, and also did a GU Energy Gel.  I also had about 4 ounces of water to wash the GU down.   

Once I started the run, I would drink about 2 to 3 ounces of Cytomax every 15 to 20 minutes.  Then at the 4 mile mark, I took a GU Energy Gel, and drank 3 ounces of Cytomax.  I continued to drink the Cytomax every 15 to 20 minutes.  At the 8 mile mark, I took my last GU Energy Gel, and drank 3 ounces of Cytomax.  I took one more drink of Cytomax (for a total consumption of 20 ounces) at the 10 mile mark, and then I just focused my effort on completing the last two miles.

Once I completed the run, I consumed 10 ounces of the Cytomax, and then consumed a Gatorade G3 with a teaspoon of Creatine Monohydrate.  After I cooled down, I then consumed an “Eat Good. Look Great.” Pure Protein high protein bar. 

Throughout the run I felt great, and I think that this is the routine that I will continue on my long run, and also on the day of the race.  I do think, however, that I will eat a little more on the morning of the race than just a Clif Bar since I will be awake about 2 to 2 and ½ hours prior to the start of the race.  But other than that one change, my routine is pretty much set for my long runs and for the day of the race.

~ by Greg Vick on November 21, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
