Swim, Strength Training and New Strength Training Program

My morning consisted of swimming intervals.  I started out by warming up with 300 yards at a medium-low intensity.  I then followed this up by swimming 5 X 150 yards at a medium-high intensity with a 45 second rest between sets.  Then I did a cool down of 2 X 100 yards with a 15 second rest between the sets.

The afternoon will be full body strength training using a combination of Nautilus machines and dumbbells.  I will be doing isolation and core exercises working both the fast twitch and slow twitch muscle groups.

As promised, I said that I would provide my updated strength training routine.  After the half marathon the 5th of December, I will be changing my strength training program to incorporate more compound exercises, but still do a few sets of isolation exercises.  I also decided that I would only do 3 sets on the smaller muscle groups (biceps and triceps) since they are a secondary muscle that are worked with the other compound exercises.

Anyway, below is my new program.  And I plan to rest 45 seconds between sets.

1. Deadlifts – 2 sets of 12 reps

2. Squats – 2 sets of 12 reps

3. Barbell Lunches – 2 Sets of 15 reps

4. Barbell Bench Press – 2 sets of 12 reps

5. Dumbbell Incline Press – 2 sets of 15 reps

6. T-Bar Rows – 2 sets of 12 reps

7. Lat Pulldowns – 2 sets of 15 reps

8. Seated Barbell Press – 2 sets of 12 reps

9. Dumbbell Shoulder Raises – 2 sets of 15 reps

10. Nautilus Seated Curls – 2 sets of 12 reps

11. Dumbbell Curls – 1 set of 15 reps

12. Tricep Pushdowns – 2 sets of 12 reps

13. Tricep Dips – 1 sets of 15 reps

14. Oblique Plank Crunch – 2 sets of 60 reps (30 reps for each side)

15. Balanced Crunch with Hip Flexion – 2 sets of 60 reps (30 reps for each side)

16. Crunches – 2 sets of 30 reps

~ by Greg Vick on November 22, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
