6 X 400 Interval Training and Strength Training

As you may know from reading my updates, I have a half marathon on Sunday in Las Vegas.  I will be participating in the Rock n Roll Las Vegas Marathon and Half Marathon.  My training has been going great, and I’m still feeling good.  Everything that I have read says that this week should be a taper week prior to the race.  I have read a couple of articles, and I incorporated both suggestions into my training this week.  Since it is not a hard week, and the most mileage that I will put in was 4 miles yesterday, I don’t think that it will be too hard on my body.

Anyway, today was 6 X 400 interval training.  I started out running 400 meters at 5.4 MPH on the treadmill, with a 1% incline, and the followed that with 400 meters at 6.5 MPH on the treadmill with a 1% incline.  I did this for 6 sets, and felt really good after the run.

If you noticed, I set the incline to 1% for the run.  I read an article that said that training on a treadmill is good, but to emulate the training conditions outside you need to set the incline from 1% to 2% depending on the treadmill.  Since I am just starting on this, and I have the race this weekend, I decided to start at 1% to see if that makes a difference in my training on the treadmill.

I only like to run outside twice a week since I have had previous issues with my knees, and the treadmill seems to put less stress on my joints than it does running outside.

I also completed a full body strength workout.  Since I ran, I did a little shorter workout, and I used a combination of machines (I tried the FreeMotion machines), barbell (bench press and curls), cables (triceps), Cybex machine (Chin-ups and dips), and dumbbells.  The strength workout felt great, and I like the feel of this combination of equipment. 

~ by Greg Vick on December 1, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
