Two days to race day …

I got into “Sin City” yesterday afternoon, and needless to say, my body has not adjusted to the time zone … yet.  I made sure that I did not go to sleep early, and I stayed up late so that I would sleep in.  That did not work … I ended up waking up about 4:00 am, which is 7:00 am East Coast Time.  I did some work, and did my usual morning routine … Clif Bar, cup of coffee, etc. and then headed down to the gym about 6:30 am in the morning. 

This morning I did more walking than running, and I also added in my strength training into the routine as well.  This allowed me to get my workout out-of-the-way so that I can take care of the other things that I need to do today.

I started out by walking on the treadmill for 10 minutes.  Once that was over, I then jogged for 10 minutes.  I then did a cool down walk for 10 minutes, and then headed to the weights. 

I only did legs (leg extensions, leg curls, lunges and squats), chest (bench press and flies), and back (chin-ups and rows).  I wanted to save some energy to so another walk/run session and then finish up with the smaller muscle groups … triceps and biceps.

After my strength training session of 25 minutes.  I then hit the treadmill again.  I started out with a 10 minute walk, followed by a 10 minute jog, and then finished the session with a 10 minute walk.  My total distance for both sessions was 4.5 miles.  That’s not a difficult pace, but one that does not over-work my body prior to the race on Sunday.

Once I finished up that session, I then did 2 different exercises, 2 sets of 15 reps for triceps and biceps.  This took about 10 minutes to complete all 8 sets for both muscle groups.

Today I head over to pick up my packet, get my race number, and also all of the swag that I will be able to pick up.  I hate to say it, but that is always my most favorite part of these events … I love the FREE swag!! 

~ by Greg Vick on December 3, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
