Inspiration

I was sitting back and thinking about the Zappos.com Las Vegas Rock n Roll Marathon and Half Marathon and all of the people who I talked to, stories that I heard, and the accomplishments that I witnessed … All I can say is AMAZING.

First, while on the run, there was a young woman in front of me who was getting tired during her run.  Her shirt had some words on the back, and as I got close I was able the read the words.  They said, “I’ve lost 139 lbs, and I have 37 more pounds to go.”  I ran with her for a little bit and gave her a few words of encouragement.

The next one I saw was an older gentleman and his shirt said, “I ran 50 marathons in 50 states.”  I have not even ran my first marathon yet, so I can only imagine how hard it is, and here this person has run 50 of them.  And in all 50 states!!  AMAZING!!  And I would be willing to put money on it that this guy was in his 60’s.  When I ran by him, I told him congratulations. 

I saw another young lady who was missing her leg.  She had a prosthesis on her leg and she was out there running as well.  Again, it’s something that I have not experienced, so I can only imagine how many obstacles she had to overcome to do what she is doing … But she is doing it.

At the awards ceremony, there was a lady who was paralyzed at the age of 24.  She won the wheelchair race.  But the part of the story that is the most amazing to me is that her first race that she participated in she did in a regular wheelchair.  I could never imagine that … Amazing.

Finally, you have our Wounded Warriors … These are our men and women who have been injured while serving on Active Duty in the military.  They are out there running the half and the full marathon. 

The bottom line on this is that if you need to find something to get you motivated to run, something that makes you want to participate in a 5K, 10K, half marathon, full marathon, ultramarathon, triathlon, etc … then just go to an event, watch, listen and talk to people.  You will hear incredible stories, meet wonderful people, and you will become inspired.   

~ by Greg Vick on December 7, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
