Injury

Well, I think that I have my first injury.  I have no idea what I did, but the top of my foot has been sore the past couple of days.  There is a ligament that runs along the top of my foot from my big toe up … well, that has been red and swollen.  Needless to say, I have not been able to run like I need to do since I only have 32 days before the marathon that I am going to participate in. 

Anyway, I have been icing it, keeping it wrapped and takeing Aleve.   I’m not going to run, or put pressure on my foot by doing leg presses, but I will continue to ride the bike and lift weights.  What I will do is to increase my time on the bike to try to emulate my running times.   So today I will spend and hour and a half on the bike riding it at a steady pace of 100 revolutions a minute, and at a moderate level.  I will also do a full body strength training session, but I will not put any pressure on my foot.

If my foot is still sore on Monday I will go to urgent care and have my foot looked at.  I just hope that ice, wrapping and rest will be enough for the week.

~ by Greg Vick on December 15, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
