M-A-L-E Gene, aka the Male Gene

So I provided ann update the other day how I injured the top of my foot and how I was NOT going to run over the next few days to let it heal … well, the M-A-L-E Gene, aka the Male Gene, kicked in and I ran … Yes, I did even though I said that I wouldn’t run, I did.  And now I am paying for it since my foot hurts even worse today that it did in the previous days.

What did I do?  Well, yesterday I went down to the gym to “ride the bike” and do some strength training.  I decide that I would walk on the treadmill, but on my walk down to the gym, I felt pretty good.  Then I figured that I would run, but that I would keep the speed down.  I started out that way … I started out at 5.3 mph on the treadmill, but then I decided to start kicking it up .1 mph every two minutes since I was feeling pretty good and my foot was not sore.  I did this until I reached 7.0 mph on the treadmill at a 1% incline and I managed to complete 6 miles.  And I still felt pretty good … until I stopped, and I started to walk … then it hit me.  It hurts, and it hurts worse!!

Now my foot is wrapped, and I have been keeping ice on it, as well as taking Aleve to try to keep the pain to a minimum throughout the work day.  Needless to say, today I will not be running.

I know you are asking, why?  It’s the Male Gene … Men in general are very easy to figure out.  We live by what I call the “Three S’s.”   We are really that simple.  But we are also pretty dumb in a lot of things.  What are the “Three S’s?”  Well, first there is substance … we need food!!  The next “S” is sleep … We like to sleep.  And the third and final “S” is … yes, you guessed it, sex.  So substance, sleep and sex … that is what we men live off of …

That still doesn’t answer why?  But it does, because like I said we are simple, yet pretty dumb.  And we will push ourselves to the point of where we injure ourselves because “thinking about consequences” is nothing something that is on our list.

So for the next couple of days, I will take it easy … very easy since I am down to 30 days before the marathon.  And if I am not feeling better by Monday, I will go to the doctor to have my foot checked out.  The last thing that I need is a broken bone or something like that … Anyway, I will strength train tomorrow and will also ride the bike.  But NO RUNNING!!

~ by Greg Vick on December 16, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
