Injury Update – Stress Fracture of the Metatarsal

Well I did it … I went to the Doctor just like I said that I would do, and it was what I guess that it was … I have a Stress Fracture of the Metatarsal.  So that means no running for the next few weeks.  As far as how long?  Well, it can be anywhere from three to six weeks depending on how bad it is.  So how bad is it?  Well, unless I want to get an MRI I won’t know, and the Doctor said that getting an MRI was not necessary unless it was something that I absolutely wanted to do.  

As far as the Charleston Marathon he said to not count it out as of right now, and that I just may still be able to run it since it is over three weeks away.  But I will just have to see how my foot feels.

In the meantime, I will be able to do plenty of non-impact aerobic activity, as well as focus on my strength training.  So today I rode the bike for 70 minutes, and also did a full body strength training session.  Since I also need to work on my swimming, I will use this period as well to focus on my swimming.

I’m not out of it, but I will need to do a lot of biking, swimming, and elliptical to keep my aerobic activity up so that I can “attempt” to do the marathon if my foot feels ok.    

So here is my plan.  I will do the aerobic activity for the length of time that I think it will take me to do the run.  For example, if I think that it will take me 3 hours to run 18 miles, then I will ride my bike for 3 hours.  That way I will still be doing the aerobic activity for the time that I need.  Make sense?

Another example, if I need to do intervals, then I will do those on the elliptical.  I will start with a 10 minute warm-up, then I will do 5 minutes at a fast pace, followed by 5 miles at a slower pace.  I will do this for the required number of reps.

I think that this will work, but I will not set a goal time for the Charleston Marathon the 15th of January.  Instead, I will focus on just finishing … that is if my foot is healed.

~ by Greg Vick on December 20, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
