Stationary Bike and Strength Training

Well, today was another day in which I am not allowed to run while the stress fracture heals in my left foot.  I am still hoping that I will be able to do the Charleston Marathon the 15th of January, but it all depends on how my foot heels.  I can’t push it and injury it worse because I have a pretty full calendar this year on events that I do want to participate in.

Anyway, my run was supposed to be a 10 mile run.  Since I run around a 10 minute per mile pace for long distances, I figured that I would need to bike for 100 minutes so that it would be equivalent to running.  I also decided that I would add in some intervals into this routine so that I would not get bored on the bike.  I started out at level 5 (choices were 1 – 20), and I increased the level every 10 minutes.  When I increased the level, I increased the tempo on the stationary bike to a much faster pace (120 rpm) instead of the 100 rpm that I kept for the rest of the time.  

I complete the 100 minutes on the stationary bike, and overall it felt pretty good. 

In the afternoon I did a full body strength training session.  I use FreeMotion machines, barbell and dumbbells.  In addition to some core workout.  I kept saying that I was going to post my strength training session, so here it is: 

1. FreeMotion Leg Extensions – 2 sets of 15 reps

2. FreeMotion Hamstring Curls – 2 sets of 15 reps

3. Squats – 2 sets of 12 reps

4. Deadlifts – 2 sets of 12 reps

5. Cybex Chin-Ups – 2 sets of 12 reps

6. FreeMotion Lat Pull Downs – 2 sets of 15 reps

7. Bench Press – 2 sets of 12 reps

8. Incline DB Press – 2 sets of 12 reps

9. Flyes – 2 sets of 15 reps

10. Shoulder Presses – 2 sets of 12 reps

11. Side Lateral Raises – 2 sets of 15 reps

12. Dips – 2 sets of 12 reps

13. Tricep Pushdowns – 2 sets of 12 reps

14. Preacher Curls – 2 sets of 12 reps

15. DB Curls – 2 sets of 12 reps

16. Leg Lifts – 2 sets of 25 reps

17. Crunches – 2 sets of 25 reps (6 lb. ball)

18. Decline Twist – 2 sets of 25 reps (6 lb. ball)

~ by Greg Vick on December 22, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
