Interval Training – Elliptical

Since I can still feel the pain in the top of my left foot from the stress fracture, I had to do my alternative workout.  Today was spending time on the elliptical.   I was supposed to run 8 miles, and since that would take me approximately 80 minutes to run that distance, I did 80 minutes on the elliptical.

I also decided that I needed to spice up the exercise, so I decided to do some intervals.  First, in order to emulate running I kept the strides per minute at 180 which would be the strides per minute that I would want to do while running.  Then at the 5, 10, 15, 20, etc. minute mark I would increase my strides per minute to 200.  I would maintain this pace for 1 minute. 

What was nice about this, I was able to add some excitement to this routine, and it really made the 80 minutes go by pretty fast.

Tomorrow will be a combination day, I will bike for 1 hour and also do an abbreviated strength training session focusing on all of the body parts but the legs.

~ by Greg Vick on December 23, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
