Modified Brick – Bike and Run

Well, I’m back … and I’m trying to get back into the groove.  I ended up going out-of-town for a few days, and I brought my bike with me and I had every intention on riding it over the past few days.  Unfortunately, I had a flat tire,and I did not get the “fix it” kit for my bike like I had intended.  And just to let you know, it’s impossible to find a place to pump up a tire on a road bike on Christmas day.   Anyway, I ended up not doing any exercise for three days, and ate way too much food … including a lot of junk food.

Needless to say, over the next 5 days I will be doing a “detox” diet that I found on Active.com (http://www.active.com/nutrition/Articles/Your-Holiday-Nutrition-Recovery-Plan.htm?cmp=17-9060).  I’m going to see what I can do to make myself feel better since I am pretty much feeling like crap.

As far as my exercise today, I decided that I would get in a little bit of a run.  No matter how good I was feeling, I was only going to run 1 mile since I don’t want to push it and hurt my foot with only 18 days before I am running the Charleston Marathon.  So I decided that I would do a modified brick.  A traditional brick is completed outside.  You ride the bike for a set amount of time, or miles, and then you run for a set amount of time or miles.  I decided that I would do my brick inside the gym so that I would not “push” too much on my run.

I rode the stationary bike for 13.5 miles (which is right at 50 minutes), and I did intervals every 5 minutes (5, 10, 15, etc) for 1:30 at 105 rpms.  I then slowed down to 90 rpms for the remainder of the time.  I also increased the intensity every 10 minutes starting at level 5.  Once I complete the bike, I them wiped down the bike (I always clean the equipment before and after I use it), and then headed over to the treadmill. 

On the treadmill, I started out at 5.0 mph, and I increased it .1 mph every 60 seconds until I hit the 1 mile mark.  It took me 11 minutes to complete the 1 mile.  I felt really good, but I knew that I should not push it so I hit the cool down, and then did the 3 minutes of cool down on the treadmill.

Overall, I felt really good, and I think that I will do the same thing tomorrow except that I will do 60 minutes on the stationary bike before I do the treadmill (again, I will only do 1 mile). 

~ by Greg Vick on December 28, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
