Modified Brick (Bike and Run) and Strength Training

Well, today I’m back into my routine, and I’m feeling a lot better.  Don’t get me wrong, it was nice to take a couple of days off, but I feel so much better after exercising.

Anyway, today, like yesterday, was a modified brick.  I rode the stationary bike for 60 minutes, and did intervals on the bike.  I did intervals of 110 rpms for 2 minutes on the 5 (at the 5 minute, 10 minute, 15 minute, etc), then I slowed my rpms down to 90 for the remaining 3 minutes before I did it again.  I also started out on level 5, and I increased the level by 1 every 10 minutes until I hit level 9.  Then I increased the level every 5 minutes, until I reached level 10.  At that point, I started back down every five minutes, and was able to finish up at level 8 after 60 minutes.  I have found that doing the intervals make riding a stationary bike a little more interesting than if I was just peddling along at a steady speed.

Anyway, I was able to complete 17 miles in the 60 minutes. 

Once I completed the bike, I then headed over to the treadmill.  Like yesterday, I know that I can’t push it.  So I set the incline for 1%, the initial speed to 5.1 and the total time to 12 minutes.  Every minute I increased the speed .1 mph until I completed the 12 minutes.  I then did a cool down of 4.5 mph for 1 minute, 4.0 for 1 minute and 3.5 for the last-minute making it a total of 15 minutes.

Total exercise time was 1 hour and 15 minutes.

In the afternoon, I did a full body strength training session doing a mix of machines (FreeMotion, barbells, and dumbbells).  I finished up by doing some core exercises working the mid section.  Overall, the strength training is coming along great, and I am able to increase the weight (slowly) as I complete the required reps of 12 or 15 depending on the exercise.

I started my “detox” diet today which I pulled from active.com (http://www.active.com/nutrition/Articles/Your-Holiday-Nutrition-Recovery-Plan.htm?cmp=17-9060).  I did modify it a little bit in that I did not “follow” the exact meals as they were laid out in the plan.  But I am managing to keep the overall caloric intake down to 1100 – 1200 calories a day according to the tracking that I am doing on activtrax.com. 

My breakfast today was the egg white omelet with the veggies.  For a snack I had a slice of whole wheat toast with 100% fruit jelly (Polaner with Fiber).  Then for lunch I had the veggie pita which was pretty awesome.  After my strength training session today, I had the plain Greek yogurt with 1 cup of berries.  For dinner I will be doing the veggie burger and salad.  The for my snack tonight I will do an orange and the vanilla Greek yogurt.  So even though it was not exactly like the plan, it has all of the elements of the plan.

One of the things that intrigued me the most was the protein in the Greek yogurt.  I was really worried that I would not be able hit the 30% mark of protein in my diet (30% protein, 50% carbohydrates and 20% fat), but with the Greek yogurt I was able to get in the 20+ grams of protein that I like to eat after my strength training session.  So I was very happy with that since 8 oz contains 23 grams of protein and 9 grams of carbs.  I think this is something that I will keep in my diet once I complete the detox.

~ by Greg Vick on December 29, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
