Elliptical and Treadmill

Today was supposed to be a 6 mile run; however, I’m not running anywhere near that since I am trying to let my foot heal so that I can hopefully run the Charleston Marathon. 

My workout today consisted of doing the elliptical for 1 hour which means that I was able to do 5 miles at 180 strides per minute.  Then what I did was to run for 12 minutes.  I started out at 5.3 for 30 seconds, then did 5.4 for 30 seconds, then increased the speed .1 mph every minute until I finished up the 12 minutes total.  I then walked for 3 minutes … 4.5 to 4.0 to 3.5.  My total workout was for 1 hour and 15 minutes.

Tomorrow the gym closes early so I need to get in both my aerobic workout and my strength training completed in the morning.

As far as the “detox” diet that I have been doing, I was successful on my first day, and overall felt pretty good (and I still feel good).  I did add “stevia” to the plain Greek yogurt today with the mixed berries.  The plain just has too much of a bite to it for me … But with a cup of mixed berries, and a tablespoon of stevia, and it is good to go.

I also went and tried on a different pair of shoes today.  I have tried both the Asics GT 2150s and the Saucony Omni 9’s and I really do love the feel of the shoes, but I’m working if it is the shoe that caused my stress fracture … Plus the fact that I am not what they would call a fluid runner.  Anyway, I tried on a pair of the Asics Gel-Kayano 17 and I loved them.  They felt so much better than any of the other shoes that I have tried on or have worn in the past.  Now I just need to find a pair in a color that I like, and the size that I need … And I am still not sure because I am not happy with their Customer Service, who has yet to return my calls, emails, etc.  A few things just make me leery … But I really need to find a pair of shoes that feel good on my feet.

~ by Greg Vick on December 30, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
