Stationary Bike, Treadmill and Strength Training

Today was another one of those days in which the gym closed early because of New Year’s Eve.  As a result, I needed to get in all of my workouts in the morning.  However, due to the time it takes to complete all of the workouts, and the fact that I was getting hungry, I had to cut down on the strength training to a few sets.

I started out on the stationary bike, and managed to do the distance that would be required for a Sprint Triathlon.  In other words, I did 12.4 miles om the stationary bike, and I did intervals to keep it interesting.  I ended up doing the 12.4 miles in 43 minutes. 

Once I completed the bike ride, I went over to the treadmill, and I did 17 minutes.  Since my legs are a little on the shaky side from the bike ride, I started out at 5.0 mph and increased it .1 mph until I reached 5.4.  At 5.4, I jogged for 2 minutes, and then increased the speed .1 mph.  I did this every two minutes, and then finished up at 6.0 mph for 1 minute. 

Overall my foot felt pretty good.  I then went over to the area with the free weights and did a very short set of strength training.  I did 2 sets of chin ups on the Cybex machine.  Once I completed that, I then did 2 sets of flat bench press.  Then I did 2 sets of dips on the Cybex machine.  Once I completed that, I picked up a pair of dumbbells and did 2 sets of lateral raises.  I finished my shorten strength training session by doing 2 sets of dumbbell curls.

I also looked for the Asics‘s Gel-Kayano 17’s today, but no one has my size in stock in the color that I want … I’m just not a huge fan of the blue/white color scheme in shoes.  Don’t ask me why, but I like black, or red/white/back … I’m not a huge fan of other colors.  Anyway, I will be in Norfolk, VA for a few days next week and I’m going to call a store called Running, Etc and I hope that they have my size and the color that I want (black) in stock.  If not, then I will have to try to order me a pair online so that I can try to break them in before I run the Marathon. 

~ by Greg Vick on December 31, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
