30 Mile Bike Ride

I was supposed to run a 10 mile run today; however, I am still taking it pretty easy in regards to running and with my foot in hopes that I will be able to run the Marathon the 14th of January.  Since I was supposed to run 10 miles today, and it would take me about 100 minutes, I decided that I would ride the bike for at least 100 minutes.  Instead I managed to ride the bike for 2 hours and 5 minutes.  Overall it was a great ride, and I could really feel it in my legs.  I managed to do 30.5 miles, and had to do the last half with the wind in my face.  One of these days I will learn to start out with the wind in my face and finish with the wind on my back.

I also ordered my shoes yesterday.  I found a web site called Road Runner Sports (http://www.roadrunnersports.com/).  I joined the “VIP” program for $1.99 which gives you a discount, and I also got free shipping.  I then did a
google” search and found a coupon that I could use for an additional 10% off my purchase.  Bottom line is that I ended up getting the Asics Gel-Kayano 17, in black, for $113.39 instead of the regular price of $139.  So that was a pretty good deal, and it will be a site that I purchase from more often if they continue to have such good deals.  Oh … and I paid a little extra ($5.99) to have the shoes delivered to my house by Wednesday.  I figure that will give me a good 10 days to break them in before I have to run the Marathon.

~ by Greg Vick on January 1, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
