Charleston Marathon – Mission Accomplished

Well, today was the Charleston Marathon.  It started out a little rough … no one could find the starting line, and no one we asked seemed to know where it was.  Needless to say, you had a lot of people who were running the Half and Full Marathon that walked around for 30 to 40 minutes trying to find out where they needed to be … That does have a tendency to make people a little frustrated.  So it was initially a little disorganized, but once the race was started it was not too bad.  

The course was well mapped out, and there were a lot of volunteers who were fantastic.  I always thank the volunteers when I see them … even when I am running because if it was not for them, then all of us who like to race would have no support.  So if you are reading this, and you race, please take a few seconds while you are running to thank all of the volunteers for their hard work … They are awesome and they make the events.

Anyway, the run started out great, but my pace was a little faster than what I wanted it to be.  In fact, looking at my Garmin 310XT data, my first mile was right on target, but miles 2 through 11 were about 30 seconds faster than what I wanted.  I slowed back down on miles 12 through 13, and had to take a potty break on mile 14 which put that one over pace by 50 seconds.  Miles 15 through 20 were on pace.  Mile 21, however … let’s just say that I started to cramp up pretty bad at that point.

Miles 21 through 25 were the hardest miles that I have ever ran in my life.  But I knew that everyone was hurting so I kept pushing on … slow, and over pace, but I was not going to stop.  On the last mile I picked it up … still over my goal pace and I finished strong.  I was very happy with my run overall, and this will give me something to improve on before my next full marathon in Seattle in June …

That’s right, I will be running the Seattle Rock-n-Roll Marathon in June.  And this time … I will be ready! 

~ by Greg Vick on January 15, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
