Recovery Day from Marathon – Easy Run, Strength Training and Triathlon Training Plan (Olympic Distance)

Today was a pretty easy day for me … I did not want to push the run too hard, so I ran for 40 minutes.  I started out with a 10 minute warm-up, then ran for 40 minutes not exceeding 5.7 mph during the run.  I then did a cool down for 10 minutes.

In the afternoon, I got in one hour of full body strength training.  I used a combination of free weights (barbell and dumbbell) and machines (FreeMotion).

I also put in my training plan for the Olympic Distance Triathlon that I am doing the 14th of May in Annapolis.  I will be starting that tomorrow as well as training for a 10K the 2nd of April and a Marathon the 25th of June.  What I am doing is increasing the run distance/duration to take into account what I need to do for the Marathon while still doing bike and swim portion for an Olympic Distance Tri.

You will be able to see my daily training plan on this since I will be detailing each and every day’s routine … starting tomorrow.

I also have a swim coach who will be helping me starting on Monday.  I know what my weak area is, and I know that a swim coach will be able to help me.  I’m not a swimmer, and I have never had lessons, so I know that I have a lot of work that needs to be done.  Let’s just hope that the person who volunteered to take me on doesn’t give up on me and walk away … I’m pretty determined, so I have that going for me. 

So I’m ready … 10K in April, Olympic Distance Triathlon in May, and a Marathon in June.  That’s a training plan …

~ by Greg Vick on January 18, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
