Triathlon Training Days 15 and 16 – Bike, Swim and Run

Ok, I will admit, I’m running a little late on getting these updates on my blog.  I’ve been exhausted … Not sure why, but I’m wondering if it is my diet or not.  I have no idea, but I even had to take a 30 minute nap today because I was so exhausted.  Anyway, I need to put down my training for the past two days.

On Day 15 my training was as follows:

Bike (AM) – Biked 15.5 miles.  I worked on maintaining my cadence at 90 rpms.  I also added in some intervals at every mile mark and increased the speed to 105 rpms for 30 seconds.

Strength Training (PM) – Full body strength training using a combination of free weights and machines.  Also made sure that I did plenty of core work to assist with my swimming.

On Day 16, my training was as follows:

Run (AM) – Tempo run was the theme.  The run consisted of a 2 mile warm-up, followed by a 4 mile tempo run.  That was then followed by a 2 mile cool-down.

Swim (PM) – The swim session consisted of 100 meters warm-up.  That was followed by 300 meters using just flippers and working on my kick.  That was followed by 300 meters using flippers and paddles.  After that, 100 meters were swam without the use of any props.  That was then followed by 100 meters of breathing exercises.  Then 300 meters using flippers and paddles.  That was followed by 300 meters using just flippers.  That was then followed by a 100 meter cool-down.

Friday is a rest day; however, I will be doing strength training in the afternoon.

~ by Greg Vick on February 3, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
