Triathlon Training – Day 20

That’s right, I am now 20 days into my triathlon training, and everything seems to be going along pretty good.  I can’t stress how important it is to get a swim coach … Unless you are a trained swimmer, a good swim coach will be a huge help.  I’ve been working with a coach the past three weeks, and even though I consider myself a pretty good swimmer … I sure have been making a lot of mistakes.  I’ve always relied on brute strength to get me through all of my swimming challenges, but as you get older it is much harder to brute force something.

We’ve been working on a lot of different areas.  First has been my kick … I am only able to swim with fins until my last four laps.  I have to focus on making my kick start at my hips.  Next has been my stroke … I have to reach for the wall then make sure that I bend my elbow right when I make my pull.  Basically, the idea behind it is that it allows me to cover more distance with fewer strokes.  My first try was 25 strokes to cover the length of the pool … After I worked on these drills, then I was able to cover the length of the pool in 17 strokes.  This will make me more efficient, and will allow me to cover more distance with fewer strokes.

My AM session consisted of swimming.  I worked on those areas that I mentioned above, and swam laps for over an hour.  It was pretty exhausting, but I felt great.

My PM session consisted of a 15.5 mile bike ride.  I worked on maintaining my cadence to 90 rpms, then would do intervals every 4 minutes for 2 minutes increasing the cadence to 110 rpms. 

~ by Greg Vick on February 7, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
