Triathlon Training – Day 22

Today is day 22 of my program.  The day consisted of just a bike ride.  I did 20 miles, but I did it going over the local bridges.  I really wanted to work my quads, and try to maintain my cadence.  Needless to say, I worked my quads, but I did not maintain my cadence.  I worked on my gearing, but there were a couple of sections in which the incline was too much … I know that its me, and that it is probably my gearing, but until I can get it figured out I will continue to have problems with areas like this.  I did make it, but I could not maintain my cadence.

You would think that if you spend $2000 for a road bike that the shop would be more than willing to go over all of the gearing, braking, etc on the new bike.  In addition, you would also think that they would do a proper bike fit, right?  Well, none of that has happened, and I’m still learning something new about my bike every day.

Also, all I can say is thank God for a bike helmet.  I took a pretty hard spill today, and I would have cracked my skull wide open had it not been for the helmet.  So I don’t care who you are, or how experienced you are … you need to wear your helmet.

I saw an “advertisement” on a Krispy Kreme doughnut box and they advertised that their doughnuts have “no trans fats.”  Who cares?!?!?!?!  One glazed doughnut has 200 calories with 110 of them coming from fat.  Now I don’t know if you have had one before, but they are pretty light and airy.  So typically you don’t eat just one … unless you are 2 years old.  After that age, you eat more than one … In fact, their “meal deal” comes with two doughnuts.  So there is 400 completely empty calories out of a 1200 – 2400 calorie a day diet.  I can think of a million other things that I would rather eat that has 400 calories … and it would fill me up.  So does no “trans fats” make eating Krispy Kreme doughnuts healthy?  NO!!  NO!!  NO!! 

They should have another label that states, “Even though this doughnut contains no trans fats, it will still make you fat, clog your arteries, cause a heart attack, and pre-mature death.”  Now that is truth in advertising!

~ by Greg Vick on February 9, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
