Triathlon Training – Day 37 – 43

Now I’m playing HUGE catch-up with my blog.  So please forgive me if this is a little long.  But I will try to keep it as short as possible.

Day 37:

Swim (AM) – 2000 meters.  I again focused my workout on my kick and my stroke.  I did ladders for my workout, but I only worked 100, 200 300, 200, 100.  After that I swam 100 meter repeats until I hit the 2000 meter mark.

Day 38:

Run (AM) – 40 minute tempo run.  I began by doing a 10 minute warm-up, followed by the tempo run, then followed that with a 10 minute cool-down.  I was supposed to run this yesterday afternoon, but I was exhausted and I knew that I would not get all that I needed out of it, so I postponed it one day.

Day 39:

Bike Ride (AM) – This was a 37 mile bike ride in which I worked on my cadence.  I tried to maintain my cadence to 90 rpms, but managed 84 rpms for the ride.

Day 40:

Run (AM) – This was just a 6 mile run … nothing fancy, just ran 6 miles.  I took it easy, and tried to maintain my pace for the run.

Day 41:

Bike Ride (AM) – This was a 15.5 mile bike ride on a stationary bike.  I worked on maintaining my cadence at 90 rpms.

Swim (PM) – I did not have the luxury of my lap pool, so I have no idea how much swimming I did.  But I swam for 40 minutes.  I was supposed to swim 750 meters.

Day 42:

Run (AM) – This was a 4.5 mile run.  I started with a 5 minute warm-up since I was on a treadmill, and then followed the end of the run with a 10 minute cool down.

Swim (PM) – Again, no lap pool, but I swam for 30 minutes.  The chlorine was very strong, and I could feel the burn even with my goggles on.  I was supposed to swim a 1000 meters.

Day 43:

Mini-Brick (AM) – Today I decided to change it up.  I was supposed to ride the bike for 18.5 miles, but it is not the same riding a stationary bike, so I decided to do a modified brick.  I started out with a 30 minute bike ride on the stationary bike working on keeping my cadence at 90 rpms.  I then followed that up with a 30 minute run on the treadmill.  It was an excellent work-out and a wonderful way to start my day.

I promise that I will try not to let this get out of hand again, and I’m sorry for the long post.

~ by Greg Vick on March 2, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
