Triathlon Training – Day 48 and 49

Yes, I’m playing catch-up today on my blog, but it is only two days.  I have to admit, the only reason that I am playing catch-up today is because I was exhausted last night after my run, and I needed the rest.  So I put it off until today.

Day 48:

Swim (AM) – The morning consisted of a swim.  I started off with 100 meters of kicking, then followed with 100 meters of pull.  I then did 3 sets of 400 meters swimming with a 1 minute rest between sets.  I finished with a 100 meter cool-down.

Run (PM) – The evening consisted of a 5 mile run.  I started out with a 1/2 mile warm-up and finished with a 1/2 mile cool-down.  The run was a gradual increase in speed to 6.5 mph.

Day 49:

Bike/Run (AM) – The morning was supposed to be a 25 mile bike ride; however the one (1) stationary bike was in use.  So I had to use a spin bike for my ride.  So I decided to change my workout to a mini-brick.  I rode the spin bike for 45 minutes.  I did three (3) sets of intervals in which I increased the tension for 3 minutes.  After the spin, I jumped on the treadmill and ran for 15 minutes.  I finished up the run by doing three (3) sets of acceleration strides in which I took the pace to 7.2 mph. 

I have a lot of work to do before my races that are coming up, but I feel that I am feeling pretty strong.

~ by Greg Vick on March 9, 2011.

Leave a comment