Triathlon Training – Day 50

Today is Day 50 of my Triathlon Training Program.  Since I am Nashville, TN for a Conference, I’ve had to do a few things that are different from my normal training plans.  I have, however, had the use of a “real” 25 meter pool, so I have been able to get in some very good swims over the past few days.

Day 50:

Run (AM) – This morning was a 45 minute tempo run.  I started with a 5 minute warm-up, and a 5 minute cool-down.  I finished the tempo run with three (3) 30 second acceleration strides.

Swim (PM) – The afternoon consisted of a 2000 meter swim.  I worked on my kick and my stroke.  I didn’t concentrate on anything else but working on those areas.

As I mentioned in one of my earlier blogs, it has been difficult to find anything to eat in the area that wasn’t fried.  Anyway, I found a place called “The Wild Cow” (http://www.thewildcow.com/twc/) on a website called “The Happy Cow” (http://www.happycow.net/).  All I can say is that the food at “The Wild Cow” is excellent.  The first night I had their humus plate which consisted of a basil/artichoke humus.  It was just the right amount of basil so that it did not overpower the humus.  I had the “beans and greens” … It was INCREDIBLE!!  Here is the description:

Beans & Greens: Spicy kale & pinto beans over brown rice, drizzled with garlic aioli  $6.75 

Tonight, I ate there again … I had the buffalo grinder.  Can I just tell you that it was amazing.  I also had a side of the spicy kale … Anyway, here is the description of that one:

Buffalo Grinder:  Marinated & grilled tempeh or tofu, lettuce, tomato, shredded carrots, ranch dressing, & our homemade zesty buffalo sauce on gluten-free bread; served with one side item $8.25

If you are in Nashville, you need to stop by The Wild Cow, talk to John, and tell them that Greg sent you … Enjoy!!  You will love it!

~ by Greg Vick on March 10, 2011.

One Response to “Triathlon Training – Day 50”

  1. Best of luck on your triathalon.

Leave a Reply

 
