Way behind …

Ok, so I know that I have not posted anything in a while.  My fault … I should just go ahead and make time even if it’s just a few lines. 

I have some really good recipes that I’m going to post.  So stay tuned for those …

As far as my training … Well, I completed my very first triathlon.  It was a blast, and I know that I’m hooked!!

Looking back I know of a few areas in which I need to improve.  First, I need to really work on my swim.  Right now I swim 100 meters in about 2:15.  I want to get that down to under 2:00.  So I know that I need to work on increasing my speed.

Second, I need to work on my transition time.  I was a little queasy from the swim, so it took me a little longer to get my wetsuit off, and get my bike shoes on.  I’m not sure if it was the waves (since the water was choppy), or if it was just trying to get use to the open water swim.  Needless to say, I will work on my open water swim as well …

Third, my bike was ok.  I do need to try to increase the speed, and I know that I was not in a very aerodynamic position.  But I have a road bike, so I sit more upright.  That, however, will change soon since I have a Felt B16 (carbon Tri bike) that just arrived at the store.  Now all I need is to find a time in which Chris can fit me on the bike.

And finally, my run … I did pretty good on the run, but looking back I think that I could have pushed the run just a little more than what I did.  Next time … right? 

I do have a marathon coming up the 25th of June … Rock n Roll Seattle.  I’ve been training pretty hard, but because of the heat and humidity I was not able to get in a long run like I wanted.  In fact, my longest run was 16 miles, and that was weeks ago.  Since that time, I’ve only been able to get in a run of 12 miles, a few 10 miles, and a few 8 mile runs.  Needless to say, I’m a little worried.  I want to do well, and I’m really hoping to break 4:30 for the run. 

Well, that’s all for now.  But keep checking back because I will be putting up a few recipes, and some of my training schedules.

~ by Greg Vick on June 14, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
