Breakthrough …

Yesterday I talked about how important it was to get over the mental stumbling block and be able to push yourself past that breaking point when you want to give up … Well, today’s workout was one of those workouts.

Yesterday was my first workout after completing the Seattle Rock-n-Roll Marathon.  I knew that I needed to take it easy, so I ran an easy 30 minutes outside in the heat and humidity of South Carolina.  It was tough, but I managed to get in right at 3.2 miles in that 30 minute time span.  It was a good workout, but it did not tax my mental stamina.

Today’s workout, however, it taxed my mental stamina.  My workout was a fairly simple workout in that in was a speed workout, but for an extended period of time.  The workout started with a 15 minute warm-up at 5.5 mph.  This was the perfect speed to get the blood flowing.  I then did 3 sets of 1 mile repeats with a 2 minute recovery jog between each set.  The 1 mile repeats were to be run at 7.3mph, and the recovery jog at 5.5mph.  The first one mile repeat was fine.  I completed it, and started my recovery jog.  At that point my mind started to play with me … I was trying to tell myself that if I could do 1/2 mile for the next 4 times, that it was the same at 1 mile.  But it’s not …

So I pushed myself for the second mile repeat.  At about 3/4 of a mile, I started to let my mind win, but I told myself that I just ran 26.2 miles, so I can run another 1/4 of a mile.  And I did … I competed the second mile repeat, and started into my recovery jog.

When that ended, I started  my 3 mile repeat.  Within the first 1/4 of a mile, my mind started to play with me … But I pushed, and I broke through that barrier, and managed to finish the third mile repeat.

Then just to show my mind who was the boss, I added in 4 sets of 100 meter sprints with 100 meter recovery jogs between sets.  The 100 meter sprints were completed at 7.5 mph, and the  recovery jogs were completed at 5.5mph. 

I then finished up the workout with a 15 minute cool-down at 5.5 mph.

I finished up the workout and I feel great.  I just have to push myself and not let my mind win and take over.  I can do it … You can do it … Anyone can do it.  You just need to break through those barriers, and put your mind to it … Needless to say, this goes with ANYTHING in life. 

~ by Greg Vick on June 29, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
