Daddy needs a new pair of shoes …

Ok, I really didn’t need a new pair of shoes, but I needed a different pair of shoes.  By nature, I’m a heel striker.  What that means is that I don’t land on my mid-foot when I run, but I come down on my heels.  It also means that I am more susceptible to injury than people who are mid-foot strikers.  I’ve had a few injuries, but nothing major. 

I will tell you that I have had a few issues with my heel hurting after a run.  But I think that was due to my form.  Now, I could try to change my form … and I have.  But I always revert back to my original form.  So rather than fight it, I decided that I would and should embrace it.  So I did …

But that means that I am looking for something that will help with my run, and I think that I found it … in a pair of shoes.

I ended up purchasing a pair of Mizuno Wave Prophecy shoes.  These shoes are designed specifically for heel strikers.  They actually have a little cushion on the back of the shoe,and kind of a small shock absorber that is built into the shoe.  I have to admit, I really like them.  I ran 4 miles in my shoes today, and I did not have an issue at all with the shoe, or how it felt on my foot.  In fact, I had no heel pain at all with the shoe.  So far, I’m pretty happy … But I will let you know how I feel tomorrow after my 9 mile run.

Happy running …

~ by Greg Vick on July 2, 2011.

One Response to “Daddy needs a new pair of shoes …”

  1. […] Daddy needs a new pair of shoes … (gregvick.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

 
