Reflection from Rock n Roll Providence Half Marathon …

I’ve had about a week to reflect on my performance from the Rock n Roll Providence Half Marathon.  To say that it was an interesting race would be an understatement.  I’m what they would call a “fair weather” person.  I don’t like to do things outside in the rain … It just makes me uncomfortable.  In fact, over the winter I decided that I was going to run in the rain, and even though I had some rain gear, it was not fun, and I cut my run short and walked back to the house soaking wet …

Anyway, so here I am on Sunday morning, standing in corral 4, waiting for the race to start in the pouring down rain.  I started out ok, and was doing pretty good in the run.  Then it happened … I stepped in a puddle and now my shoes were soaked.  I kept running … and kept thinking how much I hated wet shoes.  Oh how I hate wet shoes …

I made it to the 3.1 mile mark, and had to take a break to use the potty.  I started back on my run, and continued to trudge through the rain, and the wind … Oh, did I forget to mention that the wind picked up as well?  Yes it did, and there is nothing like getting pelted with rain drops as you run.

I will say that I did not run the whole half marathon … I did walk some, but it was not because I was tired, but it was because I was miserable from the rain.  In fact, I was not beat at all, and felt pretty darn good at the end of the race.  But I did not like running in the rain …

I did finish out the race running the last mile.  I managed a pretty good pace, and ended up crossing the finish line in 2:41:04.  It was not, by far, my best race, but considering the weather conditions, and my mental weakness because of the weather … I guess that I will take it.  I did finish it …

Mentally, I need to work on the hazards of the weather, and I need to get over it.  I will be running, biking and swimming in the rain, so I just need to get over it.  But I finished.

The reason that I keep pointing that out is because I have noticed that some of the Pros quit their races, and end up with DNF (Did not finish).  I can see if you are injured and can’t go on … But some quit just because they are having a bad race.  Get over it … suck it up … and do the best that you can.  At least you will be able to look back and say that you finished.  But a DNF with no injury?  That is wimping out.

With that being said, if I am ever confronted with those conditions again, I’m going to suck it up, and keep running.  No more walking … no more wimping out.  As long as I’m not injured, then I will keep running.

~ by Greg Vick on August 12, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
