Time to get on my soapbox …

My last post dealt with a cyclist who was killed while riding his bike to work over the James Island Connector.  Since that time there have been a few more articles, and a meeting last night to discuss bike safety in Charleston, SC.

First, I just need to say that there are a lot of idiots in Charleston, SC and the surrounding area.  If you don’t believe me, then read some of the comments by the people here in Charleston. http://www.postandcourier.com/news/2011/jul/28/panel-keeps-pushing-for-more-bike-lanes/

The deal on this whole situation is that a driver of a van swerved off the road on the James Island Connector, and hit a cyclist.  The cyclist was on his way to work, and the driver of the van is “suspected” of using his cell phone during the time of the accident.  However, since there is no cell phone laws in SC, the ONLY thing they could charge the driver with was improper lane change.  What this means is that the driver of the van will get a fine, $113, and 2 points on his driver’s license.

Needless to say, there are a lot of cyclist who are outraged, including me.  Now if you listen to these idiots talk, they want to throw all of the blame on the cyclist.  Don’t get me wrong, there are just as many idiot cyclist out there, as there are idiot drivers.  Believe me, I see both all of the time … In fact, let me tell you about what I have seen the past 24 hours.

Last night, we came home late from dinner at my in-laws.  A cyclist, with no helmet and no light was riding their bike at 11:30 pm.  Yes … That is STUPID.  And only not that, but that individual blew right through the stop sign … they didn’t even slow down.

Then today, I was walking back from my swim at the pool.  I was waiting at the cross walk for the light to change so that I could cross the road.  While I was waiting, I saw 5 … That is 5 cars that turned right on red, with a HUGE sign that says, “no right turn on red.”  STUPID!!!

What’s my point?  My point is that there are a lot of stupid people on both sides as seen from my examples, and from what a lot of idiots are saying in the comments.

What needs to happen?

There needs to be some changes and some compromise.  Examples of this would be (by the way this is not an all-inclusive list):

1. Cell phone usage while driving ANYTHING is an automatic smashing of the cell phone on the ground.  It’s pretty damn hard to talk on something that is in millions of pieces.

2. Cars need to obey the laws.  If the sign says STOP, then STOP … Don’t coast through the stop sign.  Make a complete stop … Same goes for CYCLIST … Same goes for PEDESTRIANS!!

3. All cyclist need to wear a helmet.  It pains me when I see kids without a helmet on.  By the way, this not only includes bicycles, but motorcycles as well.  I do not, and will not ride either without a helmet.  A helmet has saved my life on both of these modes of transportation.

4. Cars need to watch for cyclist and pedestrians.  Cyclist need to watch for cars and pedestrians.  Pedestrians need to watch for cars and cyclist.  Get what I’m trying to say?

5. There needs to be safe routes, bike lanes, etc for cyclist and pedestrians.  Maybe, just maybe if we had these then more people would walk or ride their bike to work, and we as a country would not have a 34% obesity rate.  THAT IS OBESITY RATE OF 34%.  That means that these people are at least 30 pounds over weight.  And over two-thirds …. that means that we have over 205,788,000 people in the United States who are overweight or obese.  This is not something to be proud of folks.  That is pretty sad …

The bottom line is that we need bike lanes, we need pedestrian lanes … We also need EVERYONE to pay attention to the laws.  That is all sides.  And most of all … put down that damn cell phone, drive and share the dame road STUPID!!

~ by Greg Vick on August 12, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
