Foo(d) at AS220 – RTK

When I was in Providence, RI last weekend for the Rock ‘n’ Roll Providence Half Marathon, I managed to stumbled across a place called AS220 on the very first day there.  It did not look like that great of a place, and I was really hungry for some Mediterranean food, so we continued to search for a Mediterranean restaurant.  And we search, but the place we were looking for was out of business, so we went back to Food(d) at AS220 to eat lunch.

For lunch we had a veggie burger, and I had the sautéed mixed greens.  Needless to say, the food was incredible, and I found a place that I knew that I would be more than happy to eat at … and eat we did.  They were open for 3 days that we were there, and we ate there 5 times.  Yes, you heard me … 5 times in 3 days.  It’s not that there was not anywhere else to eat, it’s just that the food there was incredible, and the price was even better.  And one of the many pluses was that this restaurant served local food …

Anyway, one of the dishes that I ate twice was this dish called RTK (initials for Rice, Tofu and Kale).  It had the right amount of flavor, and seemed pretty simple.  I did ask the Chef a couple of questions about the ingredients, and I don’t think that he shared all of his secrets with me, so I had to play with it to try to duplicate the flavor.  Anyway … This is the recipe.  I hope that you enjoy!

RTK – Adapted from Foo(d) at AS220

Ingredients

16oz of tofu,drained and cut into cubes

¼ tsp sea salt

¼ tsp pepper

¼ tsp Spanish smoked paprika, hot

2 tsp olive oil

¼ tsp crushed red pepper flakes

2 tbsp shallots, minced

2 garlic cloves, minced

4 cups of multi-blend rice, steamed

1 cup of kale, steamed

2 tbsp slivered almonds

Directions

Marinate tofu in sea salt, pepper and the Spanish smoked paprika for 1 hour.  In a sauté pan, heat 2 tsp of olive oil over medium-high heat.  Add tofu, and cook thoroughly.  Then add crushed red pepper flakes, and shallots.  Cook for 2 minutes.  Then add garlic and cook for one minute.

Add steamed multi-blend rice to the pan, and cook until heated thoroughly.  Then add kale and slivered almonds, and cook for 3 minutes.

Makes 4 servings … or 3 (depends on how hungry you are)

~ by Greg Vick on August 13, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
