The Perfect “10”

I know what you are thinking, and no that is NOT the perfect 10 that I’m thinking about. I’ve noticed that as I have gotten older that I have become a little more susceptible to injuries.  In fact, this 9 or 10 months I have dealt with a metatarsal stress fracture,  planters fasciitis (still dealing with this) and my metatarsal arch pain (dealing with this as well). I also have degenerative joint disease and have had major issues with both my knees and my shoulders.  Needless to say, intense exercise can be painful.

Anyway, I’ve been dealing with these issues and just recently I read the book by Bart Yasso called “Mt Life on the Run.” In the book there is a section called the Perfect 10.  As I read this, and re-read this it started to make sense, but I wanted to get some confirmation on my idea.  So I went straight to the source.  That is correct … I sent an email to Bart Yasso.

The email that I sent was extremely long, and I was worried that he wouldn’t even read it, and then I would be left to my own thoughts on this process.  I’ve always been one to try something, but since I am still battling injuries I wanted some confirmation.

Imagine my surprise when I get a response from Bart.  Wow … After a few exchanges I think that we have developed a very solid plan.   The jist of the plan is that I will do 3 quality run workouts in a 10 day period.  I can use the other days to swim, bike, and run … I also take a rest day.  This allows me to get in 5 runs, 2 bike sessions and 2 swim sessions in a 10 day period.  I thought about adding another bike and swim session instead of the two easy run sessions, but since they are easy run sessions I decided to keep my plan pretty simple.

My 3 quality run sessions consist of a tempo run, Yasso 800’s, and a long slow distance run.  I also have three different cycles that I go though, and the 4th cycle is a taper cycle that leads up to the actual race.  If you intend to do this plan, you will need to start about 100 days out from your race date.

The plan, that I intend to post tomorrow, is designed to get you through a half marathon and an Olympic distance triathlon.  I will also do this training for just a standard half marathon since I am a firm believer that cross training is huge for people.  And you can’t get better cross training than doing some biking, some swimming, and weight training.

Yes, I said weight training.   I don’t do standard weight training since I have major issues with my joints.  What I have found is a suspension system (TRX) that I use for my weight training.  I do TRX sessions three times a week (typically Monday, Wednesday and Friday).  I don’t do anything fancy, upper body one time, then lower body the next.  Since both sessions include a lot of core, that is done with both sessions.  I just do one, then the next, and then repeat the sessions.  I have found that the TRX is pretty intense, and a 20 to 25 minute session is all that I need.

Anyway, like I said, tomorrow I will post the complete workout including examples for swim and bike sessions …

~ by Greg Vick on September 28, 2011.

One Response to “The Perfect “10””

  1. Good post dude. Best of luck to you in your weight training!

Leave a Reply

 
