Rev3 South Carolina Thoughts …

It’s been almost a week since I competed in the Rev3 South Carolina event.  I ended up finishing the Olympic Distance Tri in under 3:30.  I know that I could have done better if it had not been for the planters fasciitis that I have been battling for the past 6 weeks. The run, which was only 6.2 miles, took me over and hour, and it is a distance that I regularly run in 50 minutes.  It doesn’t sounds like much, but add in the extra time that I spent in T2 stretching my foot prior to the run, and then add-on the 15+ minutes that it took me to run I could have / should have beat 3:15.  Needless to say, I’ve set a mark, and now I have a mark to go after in my next event.

Overall I was pretty happy with my performance.  I was really surprised with the swim, and I know that being able to wear a full wetsuit really helps out.  But still, I needed to be able to swim the .9 miles, and I did.  What this did give me confidence on is that I know that I will be able to complete a 1/2 iron distance swim since it is only .3 more miles.  Granted, it was not a fast swim, but I was slow and steady.

I also know that I need to ride more hills.  The bike ride was very tough since there were a lot of hills on the ride.  I averaged 15.8 mph, and on a normal ride, I average right at 18.  We are talking 2 mph difference because of the hills.  I also know that I need to learn how to use my gears on the hills.  I have a tendency to “muscle” my way through the hills using the big gear, and I see a lot of people spin using the smaller gear.  So I know that I’m doing something wrong, but I just don’t know what it is … I just need to practice more on hills.

The run … well, I pretty much said it all at the beginning.  I know that I can do better, but I need to heal.

Now to talk about the event … All I can say is AMAZING.  It is a family event … They had a kids event on Saturday, and they also had plenty of stuff for the kids to do.  So it was great to see that the event was great for families.

I am disappointed in one thing … and that is with me.  My wife and kids have been going to the events with me this year, and have been supporting me a lot in what I have been doing.  And in this event I could have had my wife and kids run the final 100 yards across the finish line with me … It’s the first event that I have participated in that they could have, and I didn’t get to have that opportunity.  But I know that the next time that I participate in a Rev3 event that they will … And yes, I will be participating in more of these.

Anyway, I also want to say that the Pros that were at the event were great.  They were all super friendly, and were great to talk to.  I really enjoy that part about Triathlons and running (half and full marathons) … the Pros are fantastic.  Of course, I’m sure that I’m not a threat to them, but they are great, and they are ALWAYS willing to answer some questions.  With that being said, the Pros that I talked to at the event were: Chris “Big Sexy” McDonald, Kate Major, AJ Baucco, Andrew Starykowicz, Brandon Marsh, Lauren Goss, Malaika Homo, Magali Tisseyre, Tenille Hoogland, amd Kristen Lavarone.  These people were all great, and I appreciate the time that they took out of their schedule to talk with me …

~ by Greg Vick on October 15, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
