Back from Injury

Well, I’ve been waiting to write for a while.  I’ve wanted to write, but since my knee surgery the 3rd of November, I just haven’t wanted to write anything.  I had a few other races planned for the year, but the injury sidelined me.  It was tough because it was not the way I wanted to finish out the year … Between knee surgery (meniscus) and left foot (planter’s fasciitis) it was just the most miserable end to the year.

Anyway, I wanted to wait until I was able to start training again.  I have been training, but it has mainly been maintenance type training so that I would not lose a lot of fitness.  I’ve been doing a lot of time on the elliptical, the stationary bike, my bike on the indoor trainer, and swimming.  Just over the past few weeks, I have been able to do a few miles on the treadmill.  In fact, the most that I did was 3.0 miles until yesterday.

Yesterday I managed to do 7 miles as a long slow distance run.  And believe me it was slow … But it felt good.  And it took me forever.  Not forever, but it sure felt like it since it took me an hour and a half to get in 7 miles.  It was a mixture of walking and jogging (at about 11 min a mile pace).  But it felt good.

Anyway, I’m going to start getting back into my training, and I will go ahead and start logging my training again.

My first two “races” of the year will be Rock n Roll St. Pete Half Marathon and then Rock n Roll Pasadena Half Marathon.  Since I will just be getting back into the mix, I don’t plan to run the whole thing, but will set up a walk/run strategy so that I can complete the half marathons.

My big race of the year will be a Half Iron Distance race in Venice, FL put on by the folks at Rev3.  It will be an awesome event, and will be great to do a race in my hometown.

Keep coming back, and I will make sure that I let you know what is going on in my world of training, and will also post some great recipes.

~ by Greg Vick on January 22, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
