Day #3 – Modified “Perfect 10”

Ok … I admit it.  I’m still not feeling well, but it was beautiful outside.  The sun was shinning, and the temperature was 66 degrees.  I would have preferred 70, but hey you can’t complain about those temperatures in the middle of winter.

Anyway, I decided to go for a bike ride.  I wanted to get in a decent workout, but not overdo it.  So I figured that a few intervals would do the trick.

My original workout that I was going to do was the following:

15 min warm-up @ 90 rpm. Then 5×5 min (2 min recovery) on the big gear (recovery on the small gear @ 90 rpm).  Then a 5X2 min at max with a 5 min easy recovery.  Finally, a 10 min cool-down.

Since I was not feeling 100%, I decided to do the following:

10 min warm-up @ 90 rpm. 4×1 mile (big gear) with 1 mile recovery (small gear).  Then a 10 min cool-down.

Granted it wasn’t the workout that I wanted to do, but I did get out there and get my heart rate up.  Plus there is nothing that will clear your lungs like a hard sprints on a bike.

 

~ by Greg Vick on January 25, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
